Beginnings Springville-Spring City
Over time, manufacturing, the Schuylkill River, and railroads all played important roles in Spring City Borough’s early years (when the town was actually called Springville).In 1800, the Royer brothers owned adjoining farms in East Vincent Township. The road that separated their farms, later to be known as Bridge Street, wound its way down to the banks of the Schuylkill River.
In 1824, the Schuylkill Canal, which ran parallel to the river on the western bank near the Royer farms, would bring about a dramatic change to the area over the next 25 years. A paper mill, stove foundry, and canal store – along with a gristmill and a handful of houses – could all be found in the young town now called Springville.Numerous natural springs in the area, and one in particular that was discovered on the Yost Farm in 1830, gave rise to the name. The Yost Spring supplied the town pump that was located at Main Street & Yost Avenue, just a short distance down the hill from the spring.
The borough of Springville was officially founded in 1867. A few years later the name was permanently changed to Spring City, due to postal regulations. It seems that another town had already claimed the name Springville, so the change was made to avoid confusion. In the 140-plus years since then, towns along the Schuylkill River have witnessed the arrival and departure of manufacturing jobs. As a “Historical Town with a Vision of the Future,” Spring City’s leaders hope to capitalize on our rich history while laying the foundation for a new and prosperous future.
The above is a historical look at Spring City’s origins, compliments of William C. Brunner and the Spring-Ford Historical Society.